« About | A - Z List | Browse Guides | Database Help »
About Toll Access
+/- Find Out More

The Library also has FAQs on different aspects of Intellectual Property rights in an academic context:

  • About Copyright & Intellectual Property;
  • Copyright Resources;
  • Do's & Don'ts;
  • Public Performance Rights.
About Copyright
All Items by Source

Full-text Databases

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
LHCADL Journal and/or online resource

DESCRIPTION: ASC provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Coverage is multi-disciplinary.

SUBJECTS: animal science, anthropology, archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, history, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies and zoology
 
Academic Search Elite (ASE)
TAL Universal Core Journal and/or online resource

DESCRIPTION: ASE is part of the TAL The Alberta Libraries (TAL) suite of electronic resources called the Universal Core (UC). It is upgraded as part of an Alberta Government funded suite of electronic resources call the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL).

SUBJECTS: animal science, anthropology, archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, history, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies and zoology
 
Access Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: A reference database of encyclopaedias articles, dictionary terms, biographies and research updates covering science and technology.

SUBJECTS: agriculture, forestry & soils, anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computer technology, information technology, earth science, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, food science, general science, paleontology, physics, psychiatry, psychology
 
ALT Health Watch Some full text available
TAL Universal Core Journal and/or online resource

DESCRIPTION: This database provides full text for articles from more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals, reports and proceedings, as well as association and consumer newsletters. ALT Health Watch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. And it provides in-depth coverage, dating back to 1990, across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine and holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. The majority of the full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

SUBJECTS: alternative medicine, health, wellness.

COVERAGE: 1990 +
 
Archives Unbound - The American Indian Movement & Native American Radicalism (1968—1979) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Archives Unbound houses topically-focused digital collections of historical documents from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. This collection provides access to over 14,000 pages of primary documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library. This collection documents the evolution of American Indian Movement (AIM) as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.

COVERAGE: 1968-1979
 
Archives Unbound - The Civil War in Words & Deeds Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Archives Unbound houses topically-focused digital collections of historical documents from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. This collection provides access to over 140,000 pages of primary documents of rare, original chronicles of army life during the U.S. Civil War. This includes original Civil War monographs and histories and personal narratives, compiled primarily between the end of the war to 1920.

COVERAGE: 1860-1865
 
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials Some full text available
LHCADL Journal and/or online resource

DESCRIPTION: ATLA Serials is the full-text version of the ATLA Religion Database, published by the American Theological Library Association. Covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. coverage dates back to 1949.

SUBJECTS: Biblical studies, world religions, Church history

COVERAGE: 1949 +
 
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (H.W. Wilson) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Biological & Agricultural Index Plus is an index & database of full text literature to agricultural research, biology, environmental science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, veterinary medicine, wildlife management and more. It provides full text for over 100 journals dating as far back as 1997 as well as indexing with abstracts for more than 380 publications dating back to 1983.

SUBJECTS: agriculture, agricultural chemicals, agricultural economics & engineering, agricultural research, animal sciences, biochemistry, biology, ecology, environmental science, genetics, horticulture, immunology, marine biology, microbiology, nutrition, paleontology, physiology, veterinary medicine, wildlife management

COVERAGE: full-text 1979+; indexing & abstracts 1983+
 
CANSIM | Canadian Socio-economic Information Management System Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: CANSIM (the Canadian Socio-economic Information Management System) is Statistics Canada's socioeconomic database. Containing millions of datasets on labour, health, income, trade, education, manufacturing, investment, it lets users track trends in virtually every aspect of Canadian life.

NOTE: E-STAT was discontinued on July 1, 2013. It's archived content is available for for reference, research or record keeping purposes. CANSIM is now a freely accessible database under the terms of Statistics Canada's Open Licence Agreement.

SUBJECTS: demographics, economics, Elections Canada data, historical censuses of Canada, land & resources, statistics
 
Education Full Text Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Education Full Text provides coverage of education scholarship for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, school administration, teacher evaluation, teaching methods and more.

SUBJECTS: adult education, arts, athletics, computers in education, continuing education, distance education, educational technology, elementary education, government funding, higher education, instructional media, language arts, library science, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, preschool education, religious education, school administration, science & mathematics, social studies

COVERAGE: 1983 +
 
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO): Parts I & II Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides access to the digital images of every page of more than 150,000 books published in England during the 18th Century. Search for and access full-text of approximately 33 million pages.
  • ECCO Part I contains 135,000 printed works comprising more than 26 million scanned facsimile pages of English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800;
  • ECCO Part II provices access to documents with an emphasis on literature, social science, and religion. It includes nearly fifty thousand titles and seven million pages from the library holdings of the British Library, the Bodleian Library, University of Cambridge, the National Library of Scotland, and the Ransom Center at the University of Texas.
SUBJECTS: British studies, Caribbean studies, Eighteenth Century studies, European studies, East European studies, Gender studies, Latin American studies, Legal studies, Russian studies, Western European studies, Women's studies

COVERAGE: 18th century

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (FSSW) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: FSSW is a full-text resource providing comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Providing access to more than 1.3 million records, is provides access to professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses & dissertations and other sources.

SUBJECTS: family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare

COVERAGE: 1970+
 
LearnAlberta Restricted Resource Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: LearnAlberta.ca is a branch of Alberta Education. It is an online repository of digital learning and teaching resources correlated to Alberta Education’s kindergarten to Grade 12 programs of study. It is designed to assist teachers (kindergarten to Grade 12) in Alberta locate and utilize digital learning and teaching resources. Find Resources by Programs of Study, or search by grade and/or subject, media format, resource type. Also available is the Online Reference Centre.

SUBJECTS: curriculum materials, government documents, instruction resources

NOTE: For full access this resource requires a ID & PW to login. Authorized users include Alberta students in Education programs in universities and colleges, students working in upgrading programs within the K-12 context at colleges, as well as faculty members, instructors, and library staff associated with these programs. If you are an StMU Education student and require access please read LearnAlberta's Access Policy and please also contact StMU Education Administration.
 
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (LLIS) Restricted Resource Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (LLIS) provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals. This includes key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals.

NOTE:  Library Literature & Information Science Full Text is for staff use only. A login ID & PW are required to access this resource. Library staff, please consult the Library Staff Wiki for login details.

SUBJECTS: automation, bibliometrics, classification, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, information management, information retrieval, information science, librarianship, libraries, library associations, library conferences, library equipment, library supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials

COVERAGE: Coverage reaches as far back as 1980
 
ProQuest Psychology Database Restricted Resource

DESCRIPTION: ProQuest Psychology Database encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. It provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Additionally, it also includes full text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines. You can also access charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. Subject coverage includes:
 
  • behavioral psychology;
  • clinical psychology;
  • developmental psychology;
  • neurology;
  • personality;
  • psychobiology;
  • psychometrics;
  • social psychology;

PsycARTICLES Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: PsycARTICLES, a full text subset of PsycINFO, is source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It provides access to more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. These are published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and from allied organizations, including the Canadian Psychological Association (CPA). Spanning 1894 to the present, coverage also includes nearly all APA journals back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

SUBJECTS: applied psychology, child psychology, comparative psychology, differential psychology, developmental psychology, gestalt psychology, psychoanalysis, psychological tests & testing

COVERAGE: 1894+
 
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (PBSC) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: PBSC is a full-text database containing more than 560 journals. It provides comprehensive coverage of topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

SUBJECTS: anthropology, emotional & behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational & experimental methods, psychiatry, psychology
 
Religion & Philosophy Collection (R&PC) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: R&PC is a comprehensive database, with more than 300 full-text journals, covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

SUBJECTS: biblical studies, epistemology, history of philosophy, major denominations, moral philosophy, philosophy of language, political philosophy, religious history, world religions
 
Social Sciences with Full text Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Social Sciences with Full text is a full-text resource providing comprehensive coverage of more than 330 English-language social science journals. It includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. It also provides bibliographic indexing of nearly 750 periodicals, over 670 of which are peer-reviewed.

SUBJECTS: addiction studies, anthropology, applied psychology, communications, community development, culture, economics, ethics, family studies, gender studies, human tendencies, interaction, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychology, public welfare, relationships, social behavior, social structure, social welfare, social work, sociology, urban studies

COVERAGE: 1972+
 

Bibliographies, Directories & Indices

Digital Public Library of America (DLPA) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: DPLA is a portal that delivers students, teachers, scholars, and the public to library resources, wherever they may be located. It provides a library search tool that allows you to search accross the collections of a number of online libraries that include Project Gutenberg, Open Library, Internet Archive, Hathi Trust and more. Some of the materials are available online, while others are not. And copyright access to these materials will vary.
 
Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
LHCADL Journal and/or online resource

DESCRIPTION: The LHCADL is a provincial wide initiative that provides 35 participating post-secondary institutions in Alberta with access to commercially licensed digital resources and newly created collections of unique digitized content. Students and faculty from participating institutions can access and browse by subject or title more than 60 databases.

NOTE: You can only access LHCADL resources through the Library website of the post-secondary institution in which you are enrolled. All LHCADL resources are clearly identified with the LHCADL Journal and/or online resource logo.
 
MLA International Bibliography

DESCRIPTION: This database includes over 1.5 million citations to articles and books covering the subjects of literature, language, folklore, literary theory and criticism and drama.

SUBJECTS: composition, language and linguistics, literary theory, literary criticism, dramatic arts, folklore, paleography, palaeography, rhetoric, pedagogy.

COVERAGE: 1926 +
 
New Testament Abstracts (NTA) Online

DESCRIPTION: NTA Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College. Containing abstracts for over 46,000 articles, over 1,600 reviews, 17,000 books, and software, this index provides research and bibliographic aids for scholars and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.

SUBJECTS: antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology

COVERAGE: 1985 +
 
Old Testament Abstracts (OTA) Online

DESCRIPTION: OTA Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. This database features indexing and abstracts for monographs, multi-author works, over 450 journals, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.

SUBJECTS: antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology

COVERAGE: 1978 +
 
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) Restricted Resource

DESCRIPTION: Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO), also known as Oxford Bibliographies, is a web-based compendium of peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and short encyclopedia entries. It provides a scholarly pathway to the accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. OBO Collections available are:
  • British & Irish Literature;
  • Classics;
  • Environmental Science;
  • Evolutionary Biology;
  • Literary & Critical Theory;
  • Medieval Studies;
  • Renaissance & Reformation; and
  • Sociology;
     

PsycINFO Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: PsycINFO, a bibliographic resource of peer reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health, provides abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. As well, journal coverage, spanning from the 1800s to the present, includes references and abstracts to over 2,500 journals, technical and dissertations.

SUBJECTS: applied psychology, child psychology, comparative psychology, differential psychology, developmental psychology, gestalt psychology, psychoanalysis, psychological tests & testing

COVERAGE: 1803 +
 
Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) Restricted Resource

DESCRIPTION: PTSDpubs, formerly PILOTS, is a bibliographic database indexing internationally published literature on traumatic stress. Offering both current and retrospective coverage, it includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. PILOTS is produced by the US National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder.

SUBJECTS: acute stress disorder, assessment, borderline personality disorder, dissociative identity disorder, mental health services, mental health sequelae, multiple personality disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, prevention, professional ethics, public policy, post-traumatic stress disorder, PTSD, traumatized populations, traumatic stress, treatment
 
TAL | EBSCO Religion Package Restricted Resource

The EBSCO/TAL Religion Package includes:
  • ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®);
  • New Testament Abstracts Online;
  • Old Testament Abstracts Online;
  • Religion & Philosophy Collection

TAL | Universal Core Restricted Resource
TAL Universal Core Journal and/or online resource

DESCRIPTION TAL Universal Core is a suite of electronic online resources made available for a group subscription for all TAL member libraries.

NOTE: Academic libraries receive upgrades to Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete and Academic OneFile.

TITLES: Title in the TAL Universal Core are usually licensed for a fixed term. The current term is 2014-2015. Titles include (by vendor):

{EBSCO}

  • Academic Search Elite (upgraded to Academic Search Complete by the LHCADL);
  • Alt Health Watch;
  • Business Source Elite (includes Regional Business News; Business Source Complete by the LHCADL);
  • Canadian Reference Centre;
  • Education Research Complete;
  • Environment Complete;
  • ERIC;
  • Health Source Consumer Edition;
  • MasterFILE Premier;
  • Science Reference Centre.

{ProQuest}

  • Canadian Newsstand Complete

{Gale Cengage}

  • CPI.Q Canadian Periodicals Index Online

{Films on Demand}

  • Master Academic Collection
 
Web Sites of Archives in British Columbia

DESCRIPTION: Web Sites of Archives in British Columbia is a directory of archives throughout B.C. It provides information about internet resources and links to online finding aids.

NOTE: While many of the archives accessed through this directory may be accessed online, not all will have accessible digital holdings or allow for online searching. To search for and access materials you may need to visit the archive concerned.
 
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (WESW)

DESCRIPTION: Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is the world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. It is comprised of records from Wildlife Review Abstracts, formerly Wildlife Review, a print publication produced by the U.S. National Biological Service. Approximately 18,000 records are added every year. Comprehensive coverage includes more than a million bibliographic records and abstracts, with topic areas such as studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology and taxonomy.

SUBJECTS: diseases, economics, ecotourism, geography, habitat types, hunting, management techniques, species, taxonomy, wildlife behavior, zoology.

COVERAGE: 1900 +
 

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Thesauri

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (ODNB) Online Restricted Resource Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: The ODNB is a collection of more than 56,600 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. It covers biographical subjects from all periods, and provides accurate, concise and readable articles on noteworthy people from all walks of life. Its extensive biographical information is drawn from primary and secondary sources and includes more than 10,000 illustrations, researched in partnership with the National Portrait Gallery, London, England.

SUBJECTS: biography, British Isles, British history
 
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (ODNB) Online Restricted Resource Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: The ODNB is a collection of more than 56,600 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. It covers biographical subjects from all periods, and provides accurate, concise and readable articles on noteworthy people from all walks of life. Its extensive biographical information is drawn from primary and secondary sources and includes more than 10,000 illustrations, researched in partnership with the National Portrait Gallery, London, England.

SUBJECTS: biography, British Isles, British history
 

Handbooks & Guides

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: GVRL is a database of encyclopaedia and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

SUBJECTS: arts, philosophers, philosophy, philosophy terminology, humanities,regional religion studies, religion, religious denominations
 
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism (JHG) Restricted Resource Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: The JHG is intended for use by scholars as well as by students and others seriously interested in theoretical issues but without specialized knowledge. It is compiled by 275 specialists from around the world and presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography, along with cross references both within and at the end of each entry. Indexes arranged to help users locate substantive discussions of key figures and topics as they occur.

SUBJECTS: reference, literary theory, literary criticism, philosophy
 

Journal Collections

CiNii Open Access Journals & Research Bulletins Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: CiNii is a Japanese database containing more than 15 million articles from over 3600 publications. A multidisciplinary database, CiNii is strongest in humanities and social sciences disciplines. It contains academic articles published in society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database & databases. While it contains a large number of articles that are available free of charge, it also provides toll access to proprietary materials.

NOTE: StMU Library does not have a subscription to any of the CiNii toll access materials. And the search interface for this journal collection does NOT allow you to filter your results for its Open Access content. Please us the Library's Discovery Service to search for these materials.
 
Érudit - Open Access Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Érudit is a multi-disciplinary publishing consortium comprised of nearly 150 Canadian scholarly and cultural publishers. While focused on the scholarly works from the Francophone community of North America, this journal collection also provides access to research & cultural documents written in English or published by international researchers.

NOTE: StMU Library does not have a subscription to any of the Érudit toll access materials. The search interface for this journal collection does NOT allow you to filter your results for open access content. Please us the Library's Discovery Service to search for these materials.
 
Ingenta Open Access Content (IOAC)

DESCRIPTION: Ingenta Open Access Content (IOAC) is part of IngentaConnect, a multi-disciplinary publishing platform providing access to over 13,500 publications, including over 4.5 million articles.

SUBJECTS: agriculture, arts, astronomy, biology, business chemistry, computer science, earth science, economics, environmental science, food science, humanities, information & communications, life sciences, linguistics, mathematics, medicine, nursing, philosophy, physics, psychiatry, psychology, social sciences, statistics

NOTE: StMU Library does not have a subscription to any of the IngentaConnect toll access materials. The search interface for this journal collection does NOT allow you to filter your results for open access content. Please us the Library's Discovery Service to search for these materials.
 
Inter-Research Open Access Content (IROAC) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Inter-Research Science Center provides access to a small collection of proprietary & open access academic journals, primarily in the disciplines of biology, ecology &environmental science.

SUBJECTS: biology, ecology, environmental science

NOTE: StMU Library does not have a subscription to any of the Inter-Research Science Center toll access materials. The search interface for this journal collection does NOT allow you to filter your results for open access content. Please us the Library's Discovery Service to search for these materials.
 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: JSTOR is an online archive of academic journals. Founded in 1995, it provides full-text searches of digitized back issues of several hundred well-known journals across a number of disciplines in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. As an independent, self-sustaining non-profit organization, JSTOR's mandate is to provide a cost efficient journal storage and long term access. The Library currently provides subscribed access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences collections 1, 2 & 4.

SUBJECTS: arts, humanities, multi-disciplinary, sciences, social sciences
 
Nature Open Access Content (NOAC) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Nature Open Access Content (NOAC) is a sub-collection of academic journals published by Nature Publishing Group (NPG). There are 41 open access journals in this collection across the disciplines of biology, chemistry, and physics.

SUBJECTS: biology, chemistry, earth science, ecology, environmental science, materials science, medical science, physics

NOTE: StMU Library does not have a subscription to any of the Nature Publishing Group toll access materials. The search interface for this journal collection does NOT allow you to filter your results for open access content. Please us the Library's Discovery Service to search for these materials.
 
Oxford Journals Open Access Content Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Oxford Journals Open Access Content is a sub-collection of academic journals published by Oxford University Press (OUP). The majority of journals that are open access are largely in the sciences. As well, many subscription based OUP journals also offer an open access publishing option.

SUBJECTS: biology, conservation, ecology, environmental studies, evolution, genetics, mathematics, physics,

NOTE: StMU Library does not have a subscription to all of the OUP toll access materials. And the search interface for this journal collection does NOT allow you to filter your results for its Open Access content. Please us the Library's Discovery Service to search for these materials.
 
Project Euclid Open Access Journals Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: A collaborative partnership between Cornell University Library & Duke University Press, Project Euclid promotes scholarly communication in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. It currently hosts a mix of open access, subscription, and hosted subscription journals & monographs.

SUBJECTS: applied mathematics, mathematics, statistics, theoretical mathematics

NOTE: StMU Library does not have a subscription to any of the Project Euclid toll access materials. And the search interface for this journal collection does NOT allow you to filter your results for its open access content. Please us the Library's Discovery Service to search for these materials.
 
Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Project MUSE is an online database of current and back issues of peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals. It is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers to providing searchable full-text access to over 140,000 articles from over 350 quality journals from the humanities, arts, and social sciences licensed from nearly 100 publishers. The  Project MUSE database is multi-disciplinary in its scope. To find out more browse the collection by discipline.

SUBJECTS: arts, humanities, multi-disciplinary, social sciences
 
Sabinet Open Access Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Sabinet Open Access is a multi-dssciplinary sub-collection of academic journals published by South African academic publisher Sabinet.
SUBJECTS:

NOTE: StMU Library does not have a subscription to any of the Sabinet toll access materials. The search interface for this journal collection does NOT allow you to filter your results for open access content. Please us the Library's Discovery Service to search for these materials.
 
Springer Open Access Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: SpringerOpen, a division of Springer publishes peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science.

SUBJECTS: astronomy, business, chemistry, computer science, earth science, economics, education, engineering, environmental science, geography, life science, materials science, mathematics, medicine, physics, statistics

NOTE: The search interface for this journal collection does allow you to filter your results for open access content.
 
Taylor & Francis Open Access Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Taylor & Francis Open Access comprises a sub-collection of Taylor & Francis Group academic journals.

SUBJECTS: business, chemistry, economics, environmental science, life science, materials science, psychology, statistics

NOTE: StMU Library does not have a subscription to any of the Taylor & Francis toll access materials. The search interface for this journal collection does NOT allow you to filter your results for open access content. Please us the Library's Discovery Service to search for these materials.
 
University of Illinois Press Open Access Journals (UIPOAJ) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: UIPOAJ comprises a sub-collection of the University of Illinois Press (UIP) academic journals.

NOTE: StMU Library does not have a subscription to any of the UIP toll access materials. The search interface for this journal collection does NOT allow you to filter your results for open access content. Please us the Library's Discovery Service to search for these materials.
 
Wiley Open Access Journals (WOAJ) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: WOAJ comprises a sub-collection of the John Wiley & Sons academic journals.

SUBJECTS: biology, chemistry, earth science, ecology, engineering, environmental studies, genetics, geography, medicine, neurology, neuroscience, nutrition, physiology, psychology, psychiatry
 

Article Repositories

arXiv.org e-Print Archive Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: arXiv.org provides open access to over 800,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. More electronic preprints in the areas of physics, mathematics, non-linear sciences and computer science.

SUBJECTS: astronomy, biology, computer science, mathematics, physics, statistics
 

Online Libraries

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection

DESCRIPTION: The EBSCO eBook Academic Collection provides access to a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. More than 160,000 titles are available in the following subject areas:
  • art;
  • business & economics;
  • education;
  • language arts;
  • literary criticism;
  • medical sciences;
  • performing arts;
  • philosophy;
  • poetry;
  • political science;
  • religion;
  • social sciences;
  • technology & engineering.
Downloading EBSCO Ebooks: EBSCO Ebooks can be downloaded (i.e. checked out) for up to 7 days. This can be helpful if you want to transfer the book to an e-reader, or if you want to work with it offline
  • In order to download EBSCO Ebooks you will need an EBSCO account (it’s free!). Just go to the EBSCO Ebooks search page and click "Sign In" at the top right-hand corner of the webpage;
  • You will also need to have Adobe Digital Editions software installed on your device.

ProQuest Ebook Central

DESCRIPTION: ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) is an online digital library of full texts of over 1 million, of which over 70,000 are scholarly e-books. It provides access to scholarly books from over 435 academic, trade, and professional publishers and government documents. And ebooks are available in the following subject areas:
 
  • business & economics;
  • computers & IT;
  • education;
  • engineering & technology;
  • history & political science;
  • humanities;
  • interdisciplinary & area studies;
  • language, literature & linguistics;
  • law, international relations & public policy;
  • life sciences;
  • medical sciences;
  • nursing & allied health;
  • physical sciences;
  • psychology & social work;
  • religion, philosophy & classics;
  • sociology & anthropology.

ProQuest Ebook Central Canada - Canadienne

DESCRIPTION: ProQuest Ebook Central Canada is an online digital collection of full texts of over 9,800+ cross-disciplinary, Canada-specific titles. This includes 1,600+ in French.

Online Archives & Museums

Alberta Airphoto Collection (AAC) Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: The AAC consists of about 32,000 copyright-cleared images from the University of Calgary Library's collection of about one million photos. These photos are historical images of Alberta taken from the air at various scales. The coverage is of mainly urban areas in Alberta and the photos provide information on landscape and geographic features and their changes in over time.

SUBJECTS: geography, history

COVERAGE: 1924 - 1952
 
Early Arabic Printed Books Restricted Resource
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library provides access to books books printed in Arabic script as well as translations into European and Asian languages spanning 400 years. This is an aggregation of 3 collections:
  • Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library: Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues, & Periodicals
  • Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library: Religion & Law;
  • Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library: Sciences, History, & Geography

SUBJECTS: Arabic studies, Middle Eastern studies, Legal studies, philosophy, religion

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Early Canadiana Online (ECO) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: ECO is a digital library providing access to 2,249,759 pages of Canada's printed heritage. It features works published from the time of the first European settlers up to the early 20th Century.

SUBJECTS: history, literature.

COVERAGE: early colonial history to 1920s
 
Frontier Life | Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters Restricted Resource Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Frontier Life | Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters is an online collection of primary source documents documenting the development and expansion of frontiers created by the migration of Europeans to North America, Australasia and Africa, from the sixteenth to the nineteenth centuries. Comprised of the digital scans of documents from sixteen archives and libraries around the world, this collection makes available a range of primary source documents including: letters, diaries, government papers, books, artwork, photographs, business papers and maps.

COVERAGE: 1650-1920

For a more detailed overview of this collection please read the overview.
 
Globe & Mail Full-text: Canada's Heritage from 1844 (to 2001) Restricted Resource Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: This is an image-rich and full-page database archive of the Globe & Mail, Canada's oldest nationally distributed English language newspaper, dating back to the pre-Confederation era. Coverage ranges from June 1844 up to December 1999. It includes all stories, plus thousands of images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from more than 1.4 million pages.

COVERAGE: 1844 +

INSTRUCTIONS:
  1. Click on the link above;
  2. On the resulting page click on the text-link "Select multiple databases" or "Databases selected" (NOT the drop-down menu);
  3. On the next page click on the link "Canada's Heritage from 1844 - The Globe and Mail".

Audio/Visual Materials

Films on Demand | Master Academic Collection (MAC) Restricted Resource Resource contains video
TAL Universal Core Journal and/or online resource

DESCRIPTION: Films on Demand MAC is an online streaming video collection providing online access to over 235,000 video clips & 15,500 full-length videos. These cover subject areas such as: Archival Films & Newsreels

SYBJECTS: archival films, business, economics, health science, humanities, mathematics, medicine, newsreels, science, social science
 
NFB Campus Restricted Resource Resource contains video

DESCRIPTION: NFB Campus is an online streaming film collection providing access to over 3,000 productions. This includes includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. View the works of filmmakers such as Cordell Barker, Chris Landreth, Ryan Larkin, Richard Condie, Ishu Patel, Caroline Leaf, and others.

SYBJECTS: archival films, humanities, literature, theatre, drama
 
Theatre in Video Series Volume 1 Restricted Resource Resource contains video

DESCRIPTION: The Theatre in Video Series Volume 1 covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. It provides access to hundreds of the world’s most important plays in more than 550 hours of streaming video, as well as documentaries, interviews, and instructional materials. This includes definitive performances, by leading actors and directors, from celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, along with inteviews with with directors, designers, writers, and actors.

SYBJECTS: archival films, humanities, literature, theatre, drama
 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
openURL = OpenURL enabled