« About | A - Z List | Browse Guides | Database Help »
Public Domain
+/- Find Out More

The Library also has FAQs on different aspects of Intellectual Property rights in an academic context:

  • About Copyright & Intellectual Property;
  • Copyright Resources;
  • Do's & Don'ts;
  • Public Performance Rights.
All Items by Source

Full-text Databases

CourtListener Resource contains audioopenURL

DESCRIPTION: Produced by the Free Law Project, the CourtListener is a is a research resource operating the primary free repository for US legal information that can be searched by opinion, case name, topic, or citation. You can also search separately in the following sub sections of the repository:
  • Opinions Archive - an archive of legal opinions across hundreds of US jurisdictions;
  • RECAP Archive - the primary free repository of all the US court opinions;
  • Oral Argument Archive;
  • Judges Directory - a directory of State & Federal judges;
  • Citations Lookup - generates URLs so that you can easily look up a citation that you know;
 
DLI Language Courses @ Live Lingua Project Some full text available Resource contains audio

DESCRIPTION: DLI Language Courses are designed specifically for military and law enforcement personnel at work around the world. While some of the material is very specific to this context, other portions are more general and for use by the general public. This archive of language courses is hosted by the Live Lingua Project.
 
Europe PubMed Central (Europe PMC) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Europe PMC is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. It provides free access to an online digital archive of full-text, peer-reviewed health and life sciences research publications. Based on PubMed Central (PMC), Europe PMC is part of a network of PMC International (PMCI) repositories that also includes PMC Canada. It provides access to:
  • PubMed abstracts (approximately 22 million);
  • Europe PMC full text articles (approximately 2.2 million, with over 400,000 Open Access);
  • Patent abstracts (4 million + European, US, & International);
  • National Health Service (NHS) clinical guidelines;
  • 500,000 Agricola records.
SUBJECTS: anatomy, biology, health sciences, life sciences, medical sciences, medicine
 
FSI Language Courses @ Live Lingua Project Some full text available Resource contains audio

DESCRIPTION: FSI Language Courses were designed for by the U.S. State Department for use by diplomats. With some of the most detailed and comprehensive language materials available anywhere, these language courses make available ebooks and audios. Designed by professional linguists, these courses are designed to take a language student from beginner to advanced levels. Materials are delivered in grammar-based modules with lessons that include text based and audio resources. While these materials may be dated, they make good supplements to other listen-and-speak materials. This archive of language courses is hosted by the Live Lingua Project.
 
Global Cross-database NCBI Search (GCNS) [formerly Entrez] Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: GCNS is a federated search engine that allows you to conduct a single search across multiple health sciences databases of the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). The most notable of these include:
  • Bookshelf (a growing collection of biomedical books)
  • PubMed (an index of biomedical literature citations & abstracts)
  • PubMed Central (an archive of open access full text journal articles)
  • Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)
  • Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals (OMIA)
Entrez can retrieve related sequences, structures, and references as well as providing views of gene and protein sequences and chromosome maps.

SUBJECTS: biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics, health sciences, life sciences, medical sciences
 
Library of Congress | Digital Collections Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

DESCRIPTION: Since 1994 the Library of Congress (LoC) has made available digitized versions of many of its collection materials, starting with its most rare collections and those unavailable anywhere else. This directory is a gateway to a growing repository of digitally accessible photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, as well as "born digital" materials such as Web sites. Pick a specific collection to browse or browse over 50 subject categories of the entire LoC Digital Collections.
 
Peace Corps Language Courses @ Live Lingua Project Some full text available Resource contains audio

DESCRIPTION: Peace Corps Language Courses contains materials for over 100 languages. This includes widely spoken languages like French & Spanish to little known languages like Tagalog, Telugu and Bengali. This archive of language courses is hosted by the Live Lingua Project.
 
Public.Resource.Org Some full text available Resource contains audio Resource contains images Resource contains video

DESCRIPTION: A non-profit corporation dedicated to publishing and sharing public domain materials in the United States and internationally, Public.Resource.Org digitizes and makes available online the works of the United States Federal Government that are in the public domain. This includes legal resources and information (such as a full-text repository of all state and federal cases and codes), state building codes, government produced video, etc. This data is available for browsing and searching via public.resource.org, law.resource.org & house.resource.org.
 
PubMed Central (PMC)

DESCRIPTION: PMC is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH). It is developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

SUBJECTS: anatomy, biology, health sciences, life sciences, medical sciences, medicine
 
PubMed Central Canada (PubMed CC)

DESCRIPTION: PubMed Central Canada is a Canada-based archive of biomedical and health research findings. It provides free access to an online digital archive of full-text, peer-reviewed health and life sciences research publications.

SUBJECTS: anatomy, biology, health sciences, life sciences, medical sciences, medicine
 
Shakespeare in Quarto (SiQ) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Shakespeare in Quarto is a project of the British Library. Browse the digital facsimiles of the British Library's 93 copies of the 21 plays by William Shakespeare printed in quarto before the theatres were closed in 1642. It also holds resources dealing with Elizabethan and Jacobean England, English drama, the history of books and reading, the history of printing and publishing, the life of William Shakespeare, the works of William Shakespeare, and Theatre history.

SUBJECTS: Shakespeare's life, literary publishing, history, paleography, palaeography, textual history
 

Bibliographies, Directories & Indices

Digital Public Library of America (DLPA) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: DPLA is a portal that delivers students, teachers, scholars, and the public to library resources, wherever they may be located. It provides a library search tool that allows you to search accross the collections of a number of online libraries that include Project Gutenberg, Open Library, Internet Archive, Hathi Trust and more. Some of the materials are available online, while others are not. And copyright access to these materials will vary.
 
Google Books

DESCRIPTION: Google Books is a service from Google that searches the full text of books that Google has scanned. This amounts to just over 15 million scanned books and other printed works which are no longer in print or commercially available.

NOTE:
  • For books that may be covered by copyright and where the owner has not been identified, only "snippets" (two to three lines of text) are shown, though the full text of the book may be searchable.
  • While Google Books has digitized large numbers of journal back issues, it does not include the metadata (catalogue records) of journal titles required to identify specific articles in specific journal issues. When looking for journal records throught Google it is advisable to search at Google Scholar.
 
NCBI: All Resources Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: A resource for researchers in biology, chemistry, and environmental science, this directory lists all the public domain databases, online tools, and downloadable software available through the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). These resources can also be found via the site's A-Z List of Resources. Use this directory to find literature and research resources on sequence analysis, genomes, taxonomy, homology, and more.
 
PubMed

DESCRIPTION: PMC is an index of biomedical literature citations & abstracts from biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH). It is developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

SUBJECTS: anatomy, biology, health sciences, life sciences, medical sciences, medicine
 
The Online Books Page Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: The Online Books Page is an online index of over one million ebooks as well as an archives of serials freely available on the Internet.
 

Maps & Atlases

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection is a a large collection of public domain country, city and thematic maps presented as gif or jpeg files. It acts as a historical collection, providing access to older editions of maps that may be of interest to researchers and which are not usually available anywhere else online. The current online collection contains more than 44,000 map images from 250,000 maps of the print collection. Major sections of the online collection are comprised of new non-copyrighted maps made available primarily by the U.S. Government and multiple editions of maps published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).

SUBJECTS: atlases, economics, geography, history, maps, political science, sociology
 

Journal Collections

Art Journals – Illustrated Art & Satire Periodicals Resource contains imagesopenURL

DESCRIPTION: Art Journals – Illustrated Art & Satire Periodicals is comprised of the digitized holdings of Heidelberg University Library's collection of historical art journals. Over 200 journals are available online. Search by title, subject or browse by country.
 
JSTOR Early Journal Content (EJC) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: JSTOR EJC provides free access to includes nearly 500,000 articles from over 220 journals. This content is available for use by anyone, without registration and regardless of institutional affiliation. It includes all JSTOR journal content published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 outside the United States. SUBJECTS: arts,  history, humanities, inter-disciplinary studies, literature studies,  multi-disciplinary studies,  philosophy, religious studies, theology
 
Project Euclid Open Access Journals Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: A collaborative partnership between Cornell University Library & Duke University Press, Project Euclid promotes scholarly communication in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. It currently hosts a mix of open access, subscription, and hosted subscription journals & monographs.

SUBJECTS: applied mathematics, mathematics, statistics, theoretical mathematics

NOTE: StMU Library does not have a subscription to any of the Project Euclid toll access materials. And the search interface for this journal collection does NOT allow you to filter your results for its open access content. Please us the Library's Discovery Service to search for these materials.
 

Online Libraries

AnimalBase Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: AnimalBase is an online library of early zoological literature and is a significant resource for research in to taxonomic research and literature, especially for the late 18th century. It provides access to public domain (copyright-free) zoological works. It also makes available manually verified lists of names of zoological genera and species, with the nomenclatural status of all names having been verified under the current edition of the International Code of Zoological Nomenclature (ICZN). When available, AnimalBase also provides links to the digitized public domain content of other providers, such as the Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) or Gallica.

COVERAGE: 1550+
 
Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: The Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature is a sub-collection within the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). It is a collection of children's literature containing more than 100,000 volumes published in Great Britain and the United States, includes more than 800 early American imprints. This collection is further comprised of the following subcollections: SUBJECTS: book arts, book design, children's literature, literature studies, paleography, palaeography, textual history

COVERAGE: early 1700s +
 
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: The BHL makes accessible the scientific documentation of the study of living organisms, including more than 1,060,000 scientifically identified species and representing tens of thousands titles and nearly 100,000 volumes. Search the entire corpus, since the time of Linnaeus, by multiple access points, read the texts online, or download selected pages or volumes as PDFs. The BHL is a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries. Founded in 2005, it is a project for the digitization of literature on biodiversity. BHL has digitized millions of pages, of taxonomic literature and literature of biodiversity.
 
Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL) Some full text available Resource contains audio

DESCRIPTION: The CPDL is an online sheet music library focusing specifically on choral and vocal music in the public domain. It makes music scores and additional information available for download. This  includes over 11,000 scores by more than 1,500 composers, especially from the Renaissance and Baroque eras. Search for information on:
  • original texts, their sources and translations;
  • cross indexed of choral music (criteria such as musical genre, period, and number and voicing of choral parts);
  • composer information;
  • description and performance information; and
  • contents of collections of choral music.
Materials are available for download in a variety of formats, including score images in PDF, PS and TIFF format, sound files in MIDI and MP3 formats. Supported music notation formats for software programs include Finale, Finale Allegro, Finale PrintMusic, and Finale Notepad by MakeMusic, Sibelius by Sibelius, Noteworthy Composer, Encore, and the open source GNU Lilypond.

SUBJECTS: accompaniment, arrangers, baroque, choral solo, classical, composers, early 20th century, music editors, medieval, modern, music genre, music recordings, music scores, nationality, renaissance, romantic, solo voice, time period, translators
 
Classics in the History of Psychology (CHP) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Intended for researchers, teachers, and students of the history of psychology, CHP is a full text repository of historically significant public domain documents and scholarly literature about psychology and its related disciplines. it contains over 25 books, chapters, and 200 articles on-line.

SUBJECTS: evolutionary theory, experimental psychology, functionalism & pragmatism, gestalt theory, history of psychology, intelligence testing, methodology, neuropsychology, perception, personality, psychoanalysis, psychology, psychotherapy, social psychology, statistics, women in psychology
 
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: The DOAB is a directory of peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license (such as a Creative Commons license). Its primary goal is to increase discoverability of such books. It currently indexes over 1500 Academic peer-reviewed books from over 50 publishers. The DOAB provides a searchable index to the information about these books, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher's website or repository. Search for online books by title, by subject, or by publisher.

SUBJECTS: agriculture, archaeology, architecture, arts, astronomy, biology, business and economics, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, food sciences, health sciences, history, languages, law, literature, life sciences, mathematics, philosophy, physics, political science, religion, science, social sciences, statistics, technology and engineering
 
European Library Some full text available Resource contains audio

DESCRIPTION: The European Library is an Internet service offering access to the resources of 47 European national libraries. The resources (digital and non-digital) include books, magazines, journals, audio recordings and other material. The European Library portal offers free searching, and delivers metadata records as well as digital objects: some free, others at a cost. Its management of The European Library is based on a consortium of nearly 50 subscribing national libraries, all in charge of maintaining and developing the portal services.

NOTE: Not all materials indexed on this site are open access or free.
 
Europeana Some full text available Resource contains audio Resource contains images Resource contains video

DESCRIPTION: Europeana is a search platform to a collection of European digital libraries with digitized paintings, books, films and archives. The project was initiated by the European Commission. It facilitates access to records and digital objects in archives, audio-visual collections, galleries, libraries, museums. This includes over 4.6 million digital items such as:
  • images - drawings, maps, paintings, photos, and images of museum artifacts;
  • sounds - music, spoken word, radio broadcasts;
  • texts -archival papers, books, diaries, letters, newspapers; and
  • videos - films, newsreels, TV broadcasts.
 
FedFlix Resource contains video

DESCRIPTION: A joint between the National Technical Information Service and Public.Resource.Org, FedFlix indexes more than 1,700 movies made by federal agencies. Available via the Internet Archive, all materials in the FedFlix repository are in the public domain. Film materials cover a wide range of topics, including the American wilderness, atomic attack ("Duck and Cover"), aviation, China, civics, Ellis Island, emergency management, explosions of refineries, F-16, fire protection, first aid, hazards, hydroplaning, military etiquette, mechanical shock, parenting, religions, Vietnam, wetlands, and more.
 
gallica Bibliothèque Numérique (GBN) Some full text available Resource contains audio Resource contains images Resource contains video

DESCRIPTION: A project of Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF), GBN allows users to search a large range of documents, books, maps, manuscripts, images, periodicals, music scores, & audio recordings. It fulfills the mandate of BnF to make them available to the public copies of works published in France that must, by law, be deposited there.
 
HathiTrust Digital Library (HTDL) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: HTDL is a large scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries around the world. It provides a number of discovery and access services, including full-text search across a repository comprised of 8 million volumes, over 2 million of which are in public domain. Search for HTDL public domain books through the main site, the advanced search or via the WorldCat Library Catalogue Portal. Use HTDL to search for and access online public domain materials. You can also use HTDL to find items in other libraries near you or to find items in other libraries in order to make an InterLibrary Loan request.

NOTE: Users who are not affiliated with HTDL partner institution can only download:
  • single-page PDFs of all public domain works;
  • full-PDFs of works made available under Creative Commons licenses; and
  • full-PDFs of public domain works that are not subject to third-party agreements
Please read more information on printing & downloading from HDTL.
 
International Children's Digital Library (ICDL) Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: The ICDL is a free online collection of digitized children's literature that represents historical and contemporary books from throughout the world. Search the collection by location, color, length, intended age group, content type, and emotional quality. Or use the Advanced Search option for a standard library catalogue search. Designed specifically for use by children ages 3 to 13, this collection includes 4365 books in 54 languages.

SUBJECTS: book arts, book design, children's literature, family studies, literature studies
 
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: The IMSLP (also known as the Petrucci Music Library) is a open-source repository / virtual library of public domain music scores. It provides access to public domain works, including over 34,000 works, 85,000 scores, & 1,700 public domain and licensed recording, to allow for study by ear. It also provides information on nearly 5,000 composers and over 60 performers. Search and browse for music scores and other information by:
  • composer;
  • arranger;
  • editor;
  • librettist;
  • translator;
  • nationality;
  • time period; and
  • work genre.
Since in many cases multiple and historical editions of a single composition are available, and also since  musicological analyses and historical commentaries accompany the scores, the IMSLP offers possibilities as a musicological encyclopaedia.

SUBJECTS: ancient, arrangers, baroque, classical, composers, early 20th century, music editors, librettists, medieval, modern, music genre, music recordings, music scores, nationality, renaissance, romantic, time period, translators

COVERAGE: 0 CE - present
 
Internet Archive Some full text available Resource contains audio Resource contains images Resource contains video

DESCRIPTION: Is there a defunct website that for which you are searching? Or maybe it's old or outdated software you need. The Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library with the stated mission: "universal access to all knowledge" and to historical collections for researchers, historians, scholars and the community at large. It offers permanent storage and access to collections of digitized materials, including:
  • websites (access historical versions of websites including current & previous versions using the WayBackMachine);
  • moving images (animation & cartoons, cultural & academic films, news & public affairs, arts & music, and more);
  • electronic books & other texts (from American, Canadian libraries, and academic libraries, access a wide range of fiction, popular literature, children's books, historical texts & academic books);
  • audio (ranging from audio books & poetry, non-English audio, podcasts, radio programs & to music & arts with a live music archive);
  • software (from the Classic Software Preservation Project (CLASP)  & Tucows Sofware Library, the largest freeware/shareware library on the Internet.
 
Internet Archive » Ebook & Text Archive Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Is there a rare book or edition that for which you are searching? The Ebook & Text Archive of the Internet Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts & academic books. The text collection includes digitized books from various libraries around the world, including American libraries & Canadian libraries, as well as many special collections. It includes special sections on Children's Literature & Special Topics. The Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library with the stated mission: "universal access to all knowledge" and to historical collections for researchers, historians, scholars and the community at large. It offers permanent storage and access to collections of digitized materials.
 
Internet Archive » Moving Image Archive Resource contains video

DESCRIPTION: The Moving Image Archive of the Internet Archivecontains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users, ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons & concerts. Search and browse for materials such as newsreels, classic cartoons, pro- and anti-war propaganda, Skip Elsheimer's "A.V. Geeks" collection, and ephemeral material from Prelinger Archives, such as advertising, educational and industrial films and amateur and home movie collections. The Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library with the stated mission: "universal access to all knowledge" and to historical collections for researchers, historians, scholars and the community at large. It offers permanent storage and access to collections of digitized materials.
 
Internet History Sourcebooks Project (IHSP) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: IHSP is an online collection of copy-permitted, although not necessarily copyright-free, source materials for a range of history subjects. It provides access to a range of modern, medieval and ancient primary source documents, maps, secondary sources, bibliographies, images and music. In particular, it contains the the largest online resource of medieval and Byzantine textual sources.

SUBJECTS: African history, ancient history, ancient law, Catholic studies, East Asian history, global history, Indian history, Islamic history, Jewish history, lesbian & gay history, medieval history, medieval law, medieval studies, middle ages, modern history, science history, women's history
 
LibriVox Some full text available Resource contains audio

DESCRIPTION: LibriVox is an online digital library of public domain audiobooks. They are free to download! LibriVox only records material that is in the public domain in the United States. And all LibriVox books are released with a public domain dedication.
 
ManyBooks.net

DESCRIPTION: ManyBooks.net is a re-redstributor of free ebooks from Project Gutenberg, the public domain and Creative Commons. Subject/Genre range from African-American Studies and Canadian Literature to philosphy, psychology. Many of the ebooks found in the ManyBooks.net catalogue can be access in multiple formats including:
  • ePub (.epub);
  • Kindle (.azw);
  • PDF (.pdf);
  • PalmDOC (.pdb);
  • SonyReader (.lrf);
  • RocketBook (.rb);
  • RTF (.rtf);
  • Plain text (.txt);
  • and more.
SUBJECTS: African-American Studies, art, banned books, biography, canadian literature, criticism, drama, fiction, history, language, poetry, politics, philosophy, psychology, science<
 
Musopen Some full text available Resource contains audio

DESCRIPTION: Musopen is an online library of public domain music recordings and sheet music. It aims to "set music free" through providing music to the public free of charge, without copyright restrictions. It provides public access and exposure to free music resources and educational materials such as recordings, sheet music, and textbooks.

SUBJECTS: music genre, music recordings, music scores
 
Mutopia Project Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: The Mutopia Project provides access to download public domain editions of classical music for free. All sheet music archived in Mutopia is reproduced from old scores that are out of copyright. New scores are typeset with GNU LilyPond and distributed in PDF, PostScript, MIDI, and LilyPond formats. This includes more than 1600 pieces of music, more than half of which are for piano. Mutopia also hosts a growing number of modern editions, arrangements and new music, which the respective editors, arrangers and/or composers have chosen to make freely available.

SUBJECTS: accompaniment, arrangers, baroque, classical, composers, folk, hymn, instrument, instrumentation, jazz, lieder, march, modern, music editors, music genre, music scores, music styles, nationality, opera, popular / dance, renaissance, romantic
 
NCBI Bookshelf Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: NCBI Bookshelf is a searchable collection of online biomedical books and other literature. It can be searched directly by typing a concept into the database search engine. In addition to some classic biology and medical textbooks and monographs, it also includes books and databases produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

SUBJECTS: biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics, health sciences, life sciences, medical sciences
 
NYPL Digital Collections Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: The NYPL Digital Gallery is a digital archive created by the New York Public Library. It provides free access to a large collection of over 700,000 digitized items, or which over 180,000 are in the public domain. Media types that are accessible range from illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, and vintage posters to rare prints, and photographs. Subject coverage includes: arts & literature, cities & buildings, culture & society, history & geography, industry & technology, nature & science, and printing & graphics.
 
Open Library Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Open Library has about 30 million records of which 20 million are currently available. This includes access to more than 1 million scanned public-domain full-text books, available in an easily browsable and printable format. Examples of the quality of some items in the collection include scanned rare books and early editions, such as an 1831 edition of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein.

Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, as a member of the Open Content Alliance, and is funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and and the Kahle/Austin Foundation.
 
Oremus Hymnal Wiki Some full text available Resource contains audio

DESCRIPTION: This is an online index of hymns that contains texts and MIDI files of tunes used in much of the English-speaking world. It maintains an emphasis on the Anglican tradition, containing indexes to 52 Anglican hymnals from the past 140 years. These hymnals contain nearly seven thousand distinct texts and over eighteen thousand text/tune combinations.

SUBJECTS: anglican hymns, church music, hymnology
 
Project Gutenberg (PG) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks, with 30,000 free ebooks with another 100,000 titles available through PG's various partners' & affiliates' sites. Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of public domain books. These are primarily works of literature from the Western cultural tradition. Whenever possible, all full-text items PG's holdings are public-domain books, and whenever possible are available in plain text, Other formats are released as well when submitted by volunteers, with the most common being HTML. In addition, PB also contains a number of audio-books.
 
Seforim Online Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: Seforim Online makes available online older/out-of-print seforim of Rishonim and Acharonim. There are several hundred classic rabbinic texts for downloading, many of which are hard-to-find or rare editions. All are in the public domain

SUBJECTS: acharonim, hebrew texts, seforim, rabbinic texts, rishonim
 
UFDC - Arts Collections Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: These Arts Collections comprise a subset within the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). These collections contain images and full text resources related to various art forms including:
  • architecture & landscaping;
  • graphic arts (graphic design and printmaking);
  • graphic novels (woodblock prints, lithographs and traditional comics scenes);
  • performing arts ephemera (playbills, programs, costume and stage designs, sheet music, theatrical scrapbooks, prints, etchings, drawings, photographs, posters, and scripts); and
  • psychology of the arts.
SUBJECTS: architecture, drama, graphic arts, graphic novels, landscaping, performing arts, play scripts, theatre history
 
UFDC - Theology Collections Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: The UFDC - Theology Collections is a sub-collection within the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). It is a collection of more than 2,344 special collections volumes titles, including approximately 785 theological texts in pamphlet and small monograph form, along with 7,000 pamphlets (sermons and other oratory, from Victorian theologians) from the Wesleyan Methodist tradition of Scotland and England.

SUBJECTS: theology, history of theology, Methodism, Victorianism, Wesleyan theology
 
Universal Digital Library (UDL)

DESCRIPTION: With a growing online collection UDL facilitates free access to human knowledge with a free-to-read, full-text searchable collection of 1 million books. UDL is also known as the Million Book Project, led by Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science and University Libraries. It's growth objective is to make 10 million books accessible online over the next 10 years.

SUBJECTS: astronomy, biology, chemistry, education, economics, engineering, geography, health, history, law, mathematics, music, religion

COVERAGE: 1500 +
 
University of Toronto Libraries - Books Online

DESCRIPTION: Books Online makes available over 200,000 books from the University of Toronto Libraries. These are books which are in the public domain and are made available online for free by the University of Toronto Libraries Digital Collections.
 
Wikisource, the free library Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Managed by the Wikimedia Foundation, Wikisource is an general-content online digital library of freely available textual sources. holds works that are either in the public domain or freely licensed under terms comparable to open access, such as a creative commons license. The Wikisource library contains a range of materials in many languages and translations, that include: professionally published works, novels, non-fiction works, letters, speeches, constitutional documents, historical source documents, laws and a range of other documents. IT also contains other media, such as comics, film & audio books.
 

Online Archives & Museums

Anatomia 1522-1867 Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Anatomia features more than 4,300 full page plates  and other illustrations of human anatomy from 95 individual titles. All illustrations have been indexed using MeSH and are searchable by illustration technique, gender, perspective, view, colour, and title. Additionally, illustration techniques, artists, and engravers have been identified when possible. Materials in this collection have been selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto.

SUBJECTS: anatomy, biology, history of anatomy, life sciences, physiology, structural biology,

COVERAGE: 1522 - 1867
 
Beinecke Digital Collections Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Search through over 300,000 digitized images of the Beinecke Digital Collections. Part of the Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Yale University, this online collection makes available photographs, textual documents, illuminated manuscripts, maps, works of art, and books.
 
Center for Digital Scholarship - Digital Collections Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Digital Collections is a digital archiving project managed by Brown University Library's. It makes available to researchers without regard to status or affiliation to such digital collections as Prints, Drawings and Watercolors from the "Anne S.K. Brown Military Collection", the "Lincoln Broadsides", and "African American Sheet Music, 1820-1920". The Faculty & Student Projects also provides access to such digital collections as "Garibaldi and the Risorgimento", "Theatre That Was Rome", and "Paris: Capital of the 19th Century".
 
Fine Prints: Japanese, Pre-1915 Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Fine Prints: Japanese, Pre-1915 is the Library of Congress collection of over 2,500 digitally scanned Japanese woodblock prints (including Ukiyo-e and Yokohama-e) from the seventeenth through early twentieth centuries.
 
Getty Search Gateway (GSG) Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: The GSG is allows you to search online several of the Getty Museum's repositories (J. Paul Getty Museum Collection Database, Getty Research Institute Research Library Catalog, Getty Research Institute Collections Inventories & Finding Aids, & Getty Research Institute Digital Collections). Conduct broad searches of the Getty's collections, by resource type or to search directly for materials related to very specific subjects or historical periods, artists, or object types. Additionally, the GSG makes freely available over 80,000 records and associated digital facsimiles through its Open Content Images program.

SUBJECTS: architecture, art, art history, decorative arts, drawings, illuminated manuscripts, literature, modern art, manuscripts, painting, photography
 
Google News Archive (GNA) Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: GNA is an extension of Google News that provides access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives worldwide. It allows you to search and explore an online historical archives of newspapers from around the world, published before 2011. GNA provides search results for content that is freely accessible, as well as content that requires a fee.
 
Héritage Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: The result of a 10-year digitization initiative, the Héritage project makes accessible online a wide range of Canada’s archival collections. This comprises over 60 million pages of primary-source documents, chronicling Canada's history from the 1600s to the mid-1900s. Search a range of collections for government documents, military history to materials related aboriginal history, genealogy.

SUBJECTS: aboriginal history, government documents, genealogy, military history

COVERAGE: 1600s to mid-1900s
 
LACMA Collections Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) Collections comprises the largest American collection of art west of Chicago, and its inventory spans nearly every human civilization since recorded time. It makes 80,000 images artworks available for online viewing. Of this, over 20,000 images of artworks, believed to be in the public domain, are freely available for download.

SUBJECTS: arts & crafts, contemporary art, gráfica popular, Greek ceramics, impressionism, Islamic art, oil sketches, Spanish colonial art, textiles, toys, woodcuts
 
Marxists Internet Archive (MIA) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: MIA (also known as Marxists.org) was established in 1990 and is currently among the largest producers of digital texts by Marxist authors in the world. It's collection is available in in 45 different languages and is comprised of over 53,000 documents. Conduct segmented subject searches, use the encyclopedia or browse the library for the works of authors like Adorno, Habermas, Lukacs, and Marx.

SUBJECTS: Marxism, Marxist theory, philosophy, political science
 
Metropolitan Museum of Art (MMoA) | The Collection Online Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION:The Metropolitan Museum of Art's The Collection Online makes available online over 390,000 high resolution images (at least 10 megapixels) from one of the most extensive art collections in the world. As well as European painters (more than 500 Picassos along with dozens of paintings from Monet, Van Gogh, and Degas) the collection also includes photographs of Aztec stonework, Greek sculpture, and Chinese calligraphy. Search for and sort images by artist, medium, location, and era.

SUBJECTS: ancient near eastern art, arms & armor, art, art history, artists, art media, contemporary art, decorative arts, drawing, graphic arts, images, Islamic art, medieval art, modern art, musical instruments, painting, photography, prints

COVERAGE: 8000 bce +
 
MMA | Works of Art Collection Database

DESCRIPTION: Metropolitan Museum of Art's (MMA) Works of Art Collection Database is a records database that allows you to search for works that are currently on display and for art works in its collection which have scanned digital images.

SUBJECTS: art, artists, art history, art media, painting, drawing, images, Western European painting
 
NGA Images Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art (NGA). Search, browse, and download images from a collection of more than 35,000 public domain / open access digital scans documenting the collection of the NGA.

SUBJECTS: art, artists, art history, art media, painting, drawing, images, Western European painting
 
Wayback Machine Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Search through over 150 billion web pages archived from 1996 to a few months ago. To start searching the Wayback archive, type in the web address of a site or page where you would like to start, and press enter. Select from the archived dates available. The resulting pages point to other archived pages at as close a date as possible.
 

Audio/Visual Materials

LoC | National Screening Room Resource contains video

DESCRIPTION: The National Screening Room is a project of the Library of Congress's National Audio-Visual Conservation Center. The moving images in this collection provide access to a broad range of historical and cultural documents, that capture a broad range of American life and which reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different time periods. The majority of movies in the screening room are in the public domain and freely available as both 5 mb MP4 and ProRes 422 MOV downloads. Those videos not in the public domain are largely accessible via streaming.

COVERAGE: 1890 - 1999
 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
openURL = OpenURL enabled