« About | A - Z List | Browse Guides | Database Help »
All Items by Source

Full-text Databases

American Fiction 1774-1920 Restricted Resource
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I, including thousands never before available online.This landmark digital collection is based on authoritative bibliographies including Lyle H. Wright’s American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography, widely considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult prose fiction of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, and Geoffrey D. Smith’s American Fiction, 1901-1925: A Bibliography, comprising nearly three-quarters of all adult fiction published in the United States during this time period.

SUBJECTS: African studies, African-American studies, Black Studies, Asian studies, British studies, gender studies, literature, U.S. history, Women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO): Parts I & II Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides access to the digital images of every page of more than 150,000 books published in England during the 18th Century. Search for and access full-text of approximately 33 million pages.
  • ECCO Part I contains 135,000 printed works comprising more than 26 million scanned facsimile pages of English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800;
  • ECCO Part II provices access to documents with an emphasis on literature, social science, and religion. It includes nearly fifty thousand titles and seven million pages from the library holdings of the British Library, the Bodleian Library, University of Cambridge, the National Library of Scotland, and the Ransom Center at the University of Texas.
SUBJECTS: British studies, Caribbean studies, Eighteenth Century studies, European studies, East European studies, Gender studies, Latin American studies, Legal studies, Russian studies, Western European studies, Women's studies

COVERAGE: 18th century

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Gale World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Gale World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean is a multidisciplinary resource includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, providing research across the humanities both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. Browse over 1.3 million pages of archival material from the fifteenth century to the present day. This includes hundreds of periodicals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and data feeds.

SUBJECTS: Caribbean studies, Latin American studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is the result of partnerships between Gale and almost one hundred libraries to preserve and make digitally available content for academic research. Content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. NCCO is comprised of 12 distinct sub-collections:
  • Asia and the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange;
  • British Politics and Society;
  • British Theatre, Music, & Literature: High & Popular Culture;
  • Children's Literature & Childhood;
  • European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection;
  • Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest;
  • Mapping the World: Maps & Travel Literature;
  • Photography: The World Through the Lens;
  • Religion, Spirituality, Reform, & Society;
  • Science, Technology, & Medicine, 1780-1925;
  • Science, Technology, & Medicine, Part II;
  • Women: Transnational Networks.
SUBJECTS: African studies, African-American studies, agriculture, American Indian studies, Asian studies, biology, Black studies, British studies, business, chemistry, Chinese studies, computer science, earth science, East European studies, economics, environmental science, European studies, First Nations studies, Gender studies, Japanese studies, Legal studies, life science, literature (drama, novels, Gothic novels, short stories, belles-lettres, poetry), Medieval studies, Native American studies, physiology, psychology, Renaissance studies, Russian studies, South Asian studies, Southeast Asian studies, Western European studies, Women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 

Online Archives & Museums

17th & 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: 17th & 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection is the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library. It is comprised of more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period, along with transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks. Access digital facsimiles of more than 700 bound volumes of newspapers related to political, educational and economic situations of the seventeenth and eighteenth century, including English provincial, Irish, Scottish and a handful of papers from British colonies, in the Americas and Asia.

SUBJECTS: British studies, Gender studies, historical newspapers, political science, U.K. studies, Western European studies, Women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
19th Century North American Newspapers Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: 19th Century U.S. Newspapers is a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database. It provides access to an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America. The collection features newspaper publications, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the large dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. This includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests. Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings of many artists.

SUBJECTS: African-American studies, American Indian / Native American Studies, gender studies, historical newspapers, law, Women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
19th Century U.K. Periodicals Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: 19th Century UK Periodicals provides access to a large range of nineteenth-century periodical literature. This includes part 1 New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor, and Leisure/Sport charts the rapid rise of publishing in a reading culture expanding through a rise in literacy and leisure and an explosion of sports and hobbies. The series acts as a barometer of literacy and social mobility in the 1800s with a particular focus on the under-documented aspects of women, children, humor, and leisure activity in the Victorian age. It features the political spectrum of women's writing from Hearth and Home and the Women's Penny Paper, providing insight into women's changing status in the 1800s. Part II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary, and Colonial provides access to 91 periodicals that chart a century in which Britain extended its influence, reaching new heights of empire building.

SUBJECTS: African-American studies, American Indian / Native American Studies, Asian studies, British studies, European studies, gender studies, historical newspapers, Japanese studies, law, South & Southeast Asian studies, Women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Archives of Human Sexuality & Gender Restricted Resource
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Archives of Human Sexuality & Gender provides access to resources on LGBTQ history & culture since 1940. Browse rare and unique documentation of LGBTQ history via fully-searchable newsletters, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources.

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Associated Press Collections Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Associated Press Collections Online is a six-part collection of primarily twentieth-century materials consisting of news coverage, imagery, and behind-the-scenes contextual information. I provides access to decades worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more. This includes intra- and inter-bureau correspondence, from within and beyond the United States and personal papers from reporters and photographers, including notebooks, personal letters, and photo outtakes.

SUBJECTS: business, history, journalism, political science, sociology, women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Brazilian & Portuguese History & Culture Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Brazilian & Portuguese History & Culture provides access to primary source materials that chart the development of Latin America's most influential power. Topics covered include colonialism, the Brazilian independence period, slavery and abolition, the Catholic Church, indigenous peoples, immigration, ecology, agriculture, economic development, medicine and public health, international relations, and Brazilian and Portuguese literature.

SUBJECTS: agriculture, Brazilian literature, Catholic Church, colonialism, ecology, economics, immigration, indigenous peoples, international relations, medicine, Portuguese literature, public health, slavery and abolition

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
British Literary Manuscripts Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: British Literary Manuscripts Online consists of two collections, British Literary Manuscripts Online, c.1660-1900 and British Literary Manuscripts Online: Medieval and Renaissance. It provides access to facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.

SUBJECTS: British studies, European studies, East European & Russian studies, literature studies, Western European studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
British Newspapers I-V Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: British Library Newspapers provides online access to materials previously only available in London-based reading rooms. Access historical primary source materials on literature, Victorian studies, genealogy, fine arts, finance/economics, political science, and more. This database is divided into 5 collections:
  • British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900;
  • British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900;
  • British Library Newspapers, Part III: 1741-1950;
  • British Library Newspapers, Part IV: 1732-1950; and
  • British Library Newspapers, Part V: 1746-1950;
SUBJECTS: economics, fine arts, finance, genealogy, literature, political science, Victorian studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Chatham House Online Archive Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Chatham House Online ninety years of expert analysis and commentary on international policy. Access briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers, monographs, on a range of subjects that includes diplomacy, internation relations, law & security, to trade & business. Additionally, the archive offers unique access to thousands of hours of audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts, offering valuable insight into the experiences and opinions of key figures in international affairs, including Mahatma Gandhi, Winston Churchill, Willy Brandt, King Hussein of Jordan, François Mitterrand, Henry Kissinger, Prof. A.J. Toynbee, Chaim Weizmann, Dr. Andreas Papandreou, Caspar Weinberger, Chief Gatsha Buthelezi, HE Yousuf Al-Alawi Abdullah, Dr. Zhores Medvedev, and Hans Blix.

SUBJECTS: business, diplomacy, ecomomics, energy, environmental studies, internationa relations, law, political science

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
China-From Empire to Republic Restricted Resource
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: China from Empire to Republic: Missionary, Sinology & Literary Periodicals is a collection of seventeen English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years extending from 1817 until 1949, when the People’s Republic of China was founded. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949), when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic with modern approaches to politics, literature, education, public morality, and intellectual life.

SUBJECTS: Chinese studies, Japanese studies, South & Southeast Asian studies, Religion & Philosophy

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Crime Punishment & Popular Culture 1790-1920 Restricted Resource
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 provides access to a broad and comprehensive collection of materials supporting the study of nineteenth-century criminal history, law, literature, and justice. Access over 2 million pages of trial transcripts, police and forensic reports, detective novels, newspaper accounts, true crime literature, and related ephemera. Explore the causes and effects of the rise in crime during the Industrial Revolution, the development of metropolitan police departments, and the public's fascination with increasingly sensational accounts of crime in newspapers and fiction. Survey changing attitudes about punishment and reform that led to such practices as solitary confinement, prison work programs, and penal transportation, as well as "scientific" theories such as phrenology, which posited that character could be determined by physiognomy.

SUBJECTS: criminal justice, European studies, Gender studies, government, law, political science, U.S. history, Women's studies, Law & Legal Studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2004 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 provides access to more than 100 years of the regular edition of the newspaper as well as the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition. This archive provides an important alternative perspective to "the newspaper of record," the Times and serves as a complement to the Times Digital Archive.

SUBJECTS: British studies, Caribbean studies, Chinese studies, European studies, Gender studies, Latin America studies, Middle Eastern studies, U.S. history, Western Civilization, Women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Early Arabic Printed Books Restricted Resource
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library provides access to books books printed in Arabic script as well as translations into European and Asian languages spanning 400 years. This is an aggregation of 3 collections:
  • Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library: Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues, & Periodicals
  • Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library: Religion & Law;
  • Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library: Sciences, History, & Geography

SUBJECTS: Arabic studies, Middle Eastern studies, Legal studies, philosophy, religion

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Financial Times Historical Archives 1888-2010 Restricted Resource
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010 provides access to the complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through to 2010. This historical archive is a comprehensive archive for the study of economic and business history and current affairs of the last approximately 120 years. Browse every article, advertisement, and market listing is included -- shown both individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.

SUBJECTS: African studies, African-American studies, Black studies, British studies, business, Caribbean studies, Chinese studies, economics, European studies, Japanese studies, Latin American studies, Multicultural studies, South Asian studies, Southeast Asian studies, U.S. history

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Indigenous Peoples: North America Restricted Resource
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Sourced from both American and Canadian institutions Indigenous Peoples: North America covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations. Source materials are drawn from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. Also featured are indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers. Subject coverage inclues trade and communication, Arctic exploration and tribes, the Iroquois Confederation, Canadian Catholic Indian missions, Indian removal, Indian wars and the frontier army, establishment of the Canadian Indian and Aboriginal Department, Indian delegations and Indian-federal relations, Canadian Indian treaty policy, government boarding and missionary schools and curricula, Dawes Severalty and the allotment system, dances and festivals, Alaskan Indian policies, Indian languages and linguistics, assimilation and the Indian New Deal, relocation, termination, and the Indian Claims Commission, water and fishing rights, civil rights, radicalism, poverty, and the American Indian movement.

SUBJECTS: American Indian studies, Native American studies, First Nations studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Browse the Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 to survey the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle America through its three most significant decades. This archive offers a rich perspective of the everyday lives of working-class and middle-class America through a range of art, stories, articles, and advertisements in the United States during the Depression era and World War II. It offers a rich perspective of the everyday lives of working-class and middle-class America.

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Making of the Modern World Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Making of the Modern World allows you to access historical materials that document the dynamics of Western trade and the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain. Survey the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. Also accessible are resources documenting the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy as well as the function of financial institutions, the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century, and the connection between the democratic goals of revolutionaries and their legal aspirations.

SUBJECTS: African studies, African-American studies, African studies, American Indian studies, Black studies, Caribbean studies, European studies, First Nations studies, Latin American studies, Native American studies, U.S. history

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Picture Post Historical Archive 1938-1957 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Picture Post Historical Archive 1938-1957 (NCCO) comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour. It provides a fascinating snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s. Browse and search more than 38,000 pages and 95,000 articles online.

SUBJECTS: African studies, African-American studies, British studies, Caribbean studies, Chinese studies, Japanese studies, South Asian studies, Southeast Asian studies, East European studies, Gender studies, Latin American studies, Medieval studies, Middle Eastern studies, Renaissance studies, Russian studies, U.S. history, Western European studies, Women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Punch Historical Archive 1841-1992 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Browse the archives of one of the most celebrated British magazines of wit and satire. Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 provides access to approximately 7,900 issues (200,000 pages) from all volumes of Punch between 1841-1992. This includes almanacs and other special numbers (issues), as well as prefaces, epilogues, indexes, and other specially produced material from the bound volumes. Information from the ledgers has been incorporated into the Punch Historical Archive, allowing users to identify contributors and better understand the nature of the magazine and the Victorian periodical press.

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 provides access to sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, and other literature that documents the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century. Covering more than 400 years and more than 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies this digital collections provides primary source material on:
  • the discovery & exploration of the Americas;
  • colonization;
  • slavery;
  • cities and states;
  • the U.S. Civil War;
  • Reconstruction;
  • American women;
  • Native Americans;
  • Immigration; and
  • the U.S. Constitution
SUBJECTS: African-American studies, American Indian studies, Black studies, business, British studies, colonialism, economics, First Nations studies, Gender studies, Native American studies, Women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries. This collection is comprised of 4 sub-collections:
  • Part I: Debates over Slavery & Abolition;
  • Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World;
  • Part III: The Institution of Slavery;
  • Part IV: Age of Emancipation;
SUBJECTS: African studies, African-American studies, Anti-Slavery, Black studies, Caribbean studies, European studies, Latin American studies, slavery

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Smithsonian Collections Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Smithsonian Collections Online provides access to primary source content & documents behind many Smithsonian Museum collections & exhibits. This online collection is comprised of 4 sub-collections:
  • Evolution of Flight, 1784-1991;
  • Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry;
  • World’s Fairs & Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow;
  • Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive;
SUBJECTS: African-American studies, Asian studies, Black studies, business, Caribbean studies, economics, East European studies, European studies, gender studies, Latin American studies, Russian studies, science & technology, Western European studies, women's studies, U.S. history

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
State Papers Online 18th Century 1714-1782 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: State Papers Online: The Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782 represents the final section of the State Papers series from the National Archives in the UK - before the series was closed and replaced by the Home Office and Foreign Office series in 1782. Covering the reigns of the Hanover rulers George I (1714-1727), George II (1727-1760) and part of the reign of George III (up to 1782), the manuscripts that reveal the behind the scenes, day-to-day running of government during the eighteenth century. This online collection is comprised of 3 sub-collections:
  • Part 1: State Papers Domestic and Registers of the Privy Council ;
  • Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries & Germany;
  • Part 3: State Papers Foreign, Western Europe;
SUBJECTS: 18th Century studies, British studies, East European studies, European studies, Legal studies, Russian studies, Western European studies
 
State Papers Online, 1509-1714 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: State Papers Online, 1509-1714 provides access to primary source materials documenting two hundred years of British and European history, from the reign of Henry VIII to the end of the reign of Queen Anne. The largest digital manuscript archive of its kind, State Papers Online, 1509-1714 gathers together 16th- and 17th- century British State Papers and links these rare historical manuscripts to their fully text-searchable Calendars. This online collection is comprised of 4 sub-collections:
  • Part I: The Tudors, Henry VIII to Elizabeth I, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic;
  • Part II: The Tudors: Henry VIII to Elizabeth I, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign: Ireland, Scotland, Borders and Registers of the Privy Council;
  • Part III: The Stuarts: James I to Anne, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic;
  • Part IV: The Stuarts: James to Anne, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign: Ireland, Scotland and Registers of Privy Council;
SUBJECTS: British studies, East European studies, European studies, gender studies, Legal studies, Medieval studies, Renaissance studies, Russian studies, Western European studies, women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
The Economist Historical Archive Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: The Economist Historical Archive offers a historical documentary perspective on the great events of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries as viewed through the lens of over 170 years (over 8,000 issues) of the publication of The Economist. This archive provides access to editorials, news, commentary and letters country reports, industry reports, supplements, and surveys that offer the ability to track regional trends and forecasts. Also accessible are special surveys and supplements on countries and industries that offer perspectives on markets and geographies

SUBJECTS: business, British studies, Caribbean studies, economics, European studies, gender studies, Latin American studies, Middle Eastern studies, women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: First published in 1842, the Illustrated London News was the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, marking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. with coverage in the first issue ranging from the Great Fire of Hamburg to Queen Victoria's fancy dress ball at Buckingham Palace, the archive presents a vivid picture of British and world events, including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science. The Illustrated London News Historical Archive Online, 1842–2003 includes every published issue, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003.

SUBJECTS: African studies, African-American studies, British studies, Caribbean studies, Chinese studies, East European studies, European studies, gender studies, Japanese studies, Latin American studies, Medieval studies, Middle Eastern studies, Russian studies, South Asian studies, Southeast Asian studies, Western European studies, Renaissance studies, women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
The Independent Digital Archive 1986-2012 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Launched in 1986, the first issue of The Independent was published on 7 October in broadsheet format. The Independent Digital Archive 1986-2012 provides access to the digital facsimiles covers the full run of the newspaper from its very first print issue until the end of 2012.

SUBJECTS: Asian studies, British studies, business, Chinese studies, East European studies, economics, European studies, gender studies, Japanese studies, South Asian studies, Southeast Asian studies, Russian studies, Western European studies, women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: The Listener was a weekly magazine published by the BBC from 1929 to 1991. The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991 provides access to the digital facsimiles covers the full run of the newspaper from its very first print issue until the end of 2012. Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks, initially on radio, but in later years television as well, The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts.

SUBJECTS: Asian studies, British studies, Chinese studies, European studies, gender studies, Japanese studies, Middle Eastern studies, South Asian studies, Southeast Asian studies, Western European studies, women's studies, U.S. History

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
The Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: The twentieth-century run of The Sunday Times is powerful in its hard-hitting and investigative journalism, with in-depth information and widely researched, long-form news stories. The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 brings two centuries of news together in one resource, providing the complete run of the newspaper up to 2006, including all of its supplements, in one cross-searchable and browseable platform.

SUBJECTS: business, economics, British studies, European studies, East European studies, gender studies, Russian studies, women's studies, U.S. history

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
The Telegraph Historical Archive 1855-2000 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 is a fully searchable digital archive of what was once the world's largest-selling newspaper. Access over 1 million pages of the newspaper's back-files from its first issue to the end of 2000, including issues of the Sunday Telegraph from 1961.

SUBJECTS: Asian studies, business, Caribbean studies, economics, gender studies, Latin American studies, Middle Eastern studies, women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2008 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2011 provides access to the full-text facsimile more than 200 years of The Times, a highly regarded resource for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. Access in-depth news coverage, parliamentary reports and commentary, editorial opinion, and more.

SUBJECTS: Asian studies, British studies, business, economics, European studies, gender studies, women's studies, U.S. History

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2009 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2009 provides access to the complete run of The Times Literary Supplement. This includes over 300,000 reviews (covering works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry), poetry, as well as reviews of the visual and performing arts, including films, plays, exhibitions, operas, and stage performances. Also accessible are letters, poems, and articles, contemporary & scholarly criticism, as well as philosophical commentary. Until 1974, writings and influential criticism of hundreds of the twentieth century's most important writers and thinkers were kept anonymous to foster open discussion. This archive now discloses the identity of these contributors.

SUBJECTS: British studies, gender studies, literature, women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Other Online Video Tutorials