This directory indexes a wide variety of academic research resources (databases, indexes, portals, and online archives). Browse the directory for:
Research resources indexed in this directory have different degrees of access. Access for these resources are indicated using the following icons:
- indicates resources that are Toll Access. These resources are subscription based (or toll access). This means that unless you are a registered StMU student or StMU staff or faculty, you will not be able to access these resources. You will be promted to login using the 12 digit BAR CODE number from your StMU ID card. If you have problems gaining remote / off-campus access to STMU's electronic resources, then please read the following.
- resources that DO NOT have are resources that are free to access, regardless of your status at StMU.
Academic Resources that are free to access are grouped into 4 categories:
When you make a citation in an essay, article, book or any other published or non-published writing you are giving credit to someone else's intellectual property. For more help with making citations and avoiding plagiarism consult the Library's online directory of style guides.
Under certain conditions, you have the right to make a copy of materials that are under copyright, for the purpose of private study and research. To help you understand your rights and responsibilities with respect to intellectual property library has created a directory of resources on copyright and intellectual property:
- Library Copyright Policy Directory – is an index of Copyright Statues & Case Law, StMU Library’s Copying Guidelines, StMU Library’s Course Reserves Policy, and the Library’s Copyright Policy.
- Guide on Copyright & Fair Dealing;
If you wish to learn more about copyright and other intellectual property issues you can try the instruction modules from Opening Up Copyright: