« About | A - Z List | Browse Guides | Database Help »
All Items by Source

Full-text Databases

Aboriginal & Treaty Rights Information System (ATRIS) Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: ATRIS geographic information system (GIS) intended to help users identify the location of Aboriginal communities and display information pertaining to their potential or established Aboriginal or Treaty rights. It provides up-to-date information & narrative records (both site-specific and general) on treaties and agreements, claims and assertions, court cases and decisions and links narrative records with related geographic information on the interactive map. It can be used to assist to assist governments, industry and other interested parties in determining their consultation obligations and in carrying out their consultation research.

SUBJECTS: aboriginal history, Canada, cultural studies, First Nations studies, governance, Government of Canada, policy, history, Indigenous & Northern Affairs, treaty rights, treaty obligations
 
Archives Unbound - The American Indian Movement & Native American Radicalism (1968—1979) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Archives Unbound houses topically-focused digital collections of historical documents from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. This collection provides access to over 14,000 pages of primary documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library. This collection documents the evolution of American Indian Movement (AIM) as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.

COVERAGE: 1968-1979
 

Bibliographies, Directories & Indices

Anthropological Index Online (AIO)

DESCRIPTION: AIO is and online index published by the Royal Anthropological Institute. It is based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum (formerly Museum of Mankind). It indexes materials related to cultural and social anthropology, ethnography and material culture, biological and physical anthropology, demography, human ecology, primatology and archaeology (excluding the archaeology of western Europe and classical antiquity).
 
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) Restricted Resource
LHCADL Journal and/or online resource

DESCRIPTION: BNNA is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. BNNA contains more than 98,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.

SUBJECTS: anthropology, archaeology, cultural studies, education, ethno-botany, First Nations studies, gaming, governance, history, law, legend, linguistics, literacy, literature studies, medicine,  policy studies, political sciences, psychology, sociology, theology

COVERAGE: 16th century +
 
Deepening Knowledge | Indigenous/Native Language Resources

DESCRIPTION: The Deepening Knowledge Project is a part of the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE), University of Toronto, which is located on the territories of Anishinaabe and Onkwehonwe peoples. It provides a directory to resources on the history and traditions of First Nations, Métis, Inuit and Native American cultures, information about the challenges facing Aboriginal communities today, and curricula for incorporating this information into your teaching practice. Browse this section of the directory for resources on indigenous/native languages.
 
First Nations Periodical Index (FNPI)

DESCRIPTION: Use the FNPI to search for articles and research specific to First Nations studies. It contains journals of mainly Canadian Native content. This Index is a joint project of the Saskatchewan Indian Federated College, Saskatoon Campus, the Saskatchewan Indian Cultural Centre and the Library Services for Saskatchewan Aboriginal Peoples committee.

SUBJECTS: First Nations studies, gaming, governance, history, law, legend, linguistics, literacy, literature studies, medicine,  policy studies, political sciences, psychology, sociology, theology
 

Maps & Atlases

Aboriginal Mapping Network (AMN) Resource contains imagesopenURL

DESCRIPTION: Established in 1998, a knowledge sharing forum for local First Nations technicians, leaders and decision makers to enable the strategic use of of traditional knowledge mapping. The AMN mandate is to support support aboriginal and indigenous peoples facing similar issues, such as land claims, treaty negotiations and resource development, with common tools, such as traditional use studies, GIS mapping and other information systems.
 

Online Libraries

First Nations Information Connection (FNIC) Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: FNIC is a collection of online resources specific to research on First Nations studies. Use it to search the library collections of First Nations college of Alberta or browse indexes of online resources specific to Aboriginal issues and history: treaty documents from Indian & Northern Affairs, aboriginal law, demographic profiles published by Statistics Canada, film documentaries from the NFB, histories from Library & Archives Canada.

SUBJECTS: First Nations studies, First Nations governance, history, languages, law, literature, residential school system, science & the environment, traditional culture, treaties, treaty rights
 
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal)

DESCRIPTION: iPortal provides access, for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community, to electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. The goal of (iPortal) is to provide a central place to find resources related to Indigenous studies. iPortal is being developed by the University of Saskatchewan Library.

SUBJECTS: aboriginal studies, First Nations studies, indigenous studies
 

Online Archives & Museums

17th & 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: 17th & 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection is the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library. It is comprised of more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period, along with transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks. Access digital facsimiles of more than 700 bound volumes of newspapers related to political, educational and economic situations of the seventeenth and eighteenth century, including English provincial, Irish, Scottish and a handful of papers from British colonies, in the Americas and Asia.

SUBJECTS: British studies, Gender studies, historical newspapers, political science, U.K. studies, Western European studies, Women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
19th Century North American Newspapers Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: 19th Century U.S. Newspapers is a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database. It provides access to an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America. The collection features newspaper publications, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the large dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. This includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests. Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings of many artists.

SUBJECTS: African-American studies, American Indian / Native American Studies, gender studies, historical newspapers, law, Women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
19th Century U.K. Periodicals Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: 19th Century UK Periodicals provides access to a large range of nineteenth-century periodical literature. This includes part 1 New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor, and Leisure/Sport charts the rapid rise of publishing in a reading culture expanding through a rise in literacy and leisure and an explosion of sports and hobbies. The series acts as a barometer of literacy and social mobility in the 1800s with a particular focus on the under-documented aspects of women, children, humor, and leisure activity in the Victorian age. It features the political spectrum of women's writing from Hearth and Home and the Women's Penny Paper, providing insight into women's changing status in the 1800s. Part II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary, and Colonial provides access to 91 periodicals that chart a century in which Britain extended its influence, reaching new heights of empire building.

SUBJECTS: African-American studies, American Indian / Native American Studies, Asian studies, British studies, European studies, gender studies, historical newspapers, Japanese studies, law, South & Southeast Asian studies, Women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Blackfoot Digital Library (BDL) Some full text available Resource contains audio Resource contains images Resource contains video

DESCRIPTION: The BDL is a venue for sharing families and communities stories, past and present. It is intended to be an educational resource for all those now living in kitawahsinnoon. BDL is a joint project between Red Crow Community College and the University of Lethbridge. It is part of an endeavour to bring together field notes, photographs, and recordings that have been spread all over the world.

NOTE: Digital holdings and the development of the BDL is incomplete. It is an unfinished ongoing project in development.

SUBJECTS: anthropology, cultural studies, education, First Nations studies, history, law, legend, policy studies, political sciences, sociology, theology
 
Brazilian & Portuguese History & Culture Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Brazilian & Portuguese History & Culture provides access to primary source materials that chart the development of Latin America's most influential power. Topics covered include colonialism, the Brazilian independence period, slavery and abolition, the Catholic Church, indigenous peoples, immigration, ecology, agriculture, economic development, medicine and public health, international relations, and Brazilian and Portuguese literature.

SUBJECTS: agriculture, Brazilian literature, Catholic Church, colonialism, ecology, economics, immigration, indigenous peoples, international relations, medicine, Portuguese literature, public health, slavery and abolition

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian - Digital Text Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Part of Northwestern University's Digital Library Collections, this collection comprises the digital version of the full twenty volumes of approximately 5000 pages of narrative text of Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian (published between 1907 to 1930. It presents the complete contents, images and descriptions, that reflect the prevailing Euro-American cultural perspective of Curtis’s time.

SUBJECTS: aboriginal history, cultural studies, First Nations studies, history, traditional culture
 
Frontier Life | Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters Restricted Resource Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Frontier Life | Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters is an online collection of primary source documents documenting the development and expansion of frontiers created by the migration of Europeans to North America, Australasia and Africa, from the sixteenth to the nineteenth centuries. Comprised of the digital scans of documents from sixteen archives and libraries around the world, this collection makes available a range of primary source documents including: letters, diaries, government papers, books, artwork, photographs, business papers and maps.

COVERAGE: 1650-1920

For a more detailed overview of this collection please read the overview.
 
Héritage Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: The result of a 10-year digitization initiative, the Héritage project makes accessible online a wide range of Canada’s archival collections. This comprises over 60 million pages of primary-source documents, chronicling Canada's history from the 1600s to the mid-1900s. Search a range of collections for government documents, military history to materials related aboriginal history, genealogy.

SUBJECTS: aboriginal history, government documents, genealogy, military history

COVERAGE: 1600s to mid-1900s
 
Indigenous Peoples: North America Restricted Resource
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Sourced from both American and Canadian institutions Indigenous Peoples: North America covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations. Source materials are drawn from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. Also featured are indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers. Subject coverage inclues trade and communication, Arctic exploration and tribes, the Iroquois Confederation, Canadian Catholic Indian missions, Indian removal, Indian wars and the frontier army, establishment of the Canadian Indian and Aboriginal Department, Indian delegations and Indian-federal relations, Canadian Indian treaty policy, government boarding and missionary schools and curricula, Dawes Severalty and the allotment system, dances and festivals, Alaskan Indian policies, Indian languages and linguistics, assimilation and the Indian New Deal, relocation, termination, and the Indian Claims Commission, water and fishing rights, civil rights, radicalism, poverty, and the American Indian movement.

SUBJECTS: American Indian studies, Native American studies, First Nations studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
LoC | Edward S. Curtis Collection - Image Archive Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: This collection provides a unique glimpse into Curtis's work with indigenous cultures of North America. It provides access to more than 1,000 digitized and individually described photographs, from a larger collection of over 2,400 silver-gelatin photographic prints dating from about 1900 through 1930. The collection includes a large number of individual or group portraits, as well as traditional and ceremonial dress, dwellings and other structures, agriculture, arts and crafts, rites and ceremonies, dances, games, food preparation, transportation, and scenery.

SUBJECTS: aboriginal history, cultural studies, First Nations studies, history, traditional culture,
 
Making of the Modern World Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Making of the Modern World allows you to access historical materials that document the dynamics of Western trade and the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain. Survey the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. Also accessible are resources documenting the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy as well as the function of financial institutions, the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century, and the connection between the democratic goals of revolutionaries and their legal aspirations.

SUBJECTS: African studies, African-American studies, African studies, American Indian studies, Black studies, Caribbean studies, European studies, First Nations studies, Latin American studies, Native American studies, U.S. history

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 
Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) Archive Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

DESCRIPTION: Along with the RCAP publications and the final report, the RCAP Archive makes accessible online transcripts of more than 175 days of hearings, nearly 200 research reports, and more than 100 submissions from tribal councils, organizations and interest groups. Search the digitized archive comprised of a rich in collection of scholarly studies, written submissions, oral transcripts, photographs, audio and video recordings, as well as duplicate digital files on floppy disks.
 
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Gale Primary Sources

DESCRIPTION: Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 provides access to sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, and other literature that documents the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century. Covering more than 400 years and more than 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies this digital collections provides primary source material on:
  • the discovery & exploration of the Americas;
  • colonization;
  • slavery;
  • cities and states;
  • the U.S. Civil War;
  • Reconstruction;
  • American women;
  • Native Americans;
  • Immigration; and
  • the U.S. Constitution
SUBJECTS: African-American studies, American Indian studies, Black studies, business, British studies, colonialism, economics, First Nations studies, Gender studies, Native American studies, Women's studies

NOTE: If you are not a member of the StMU community, you can access Gale Primary Resources via The Alberta Library Research Portal.
 

Agencies, Associations & Organizations

Assembly of First Nations | Assemblée des Premières Nations Some full text available

DESCRIPTION: AFN is an assembly of First Nations (Indian bands) represented by their chiefs, modelled on the United Nations General Assembly.
 

Portals & Websites

Aboriginal Peoples & Communities Some full text available Resource contains images

DESCRIPTION: Access the Government of Canada's resource site for Indigenous & Northern Affairs. Look up policy & governance documentation concerning First Nations, Inuit, Métis & Non-Status First Nations peoples.

SUBJECTS: aboriginal history, Canada, cultural studies, First Nations studies, governance, Government of Canada, policy, history, Indigenous & Northern Affairs
 
LAC Aboriginal Heritage Some full text available Resource contains audio Resource contains images Resource contains video

DESCRIPTION: Access the documentary history and digital collections of First Nations held in Library & Archives Canada (LAC). The LAC holdings comtain a wide variety of materials in all media types. These can be accessed via online databases, portals, research & reference guides & virtual exhibitions.

SUBJECTS: aboriginal history, Canada, cultural studies, First Nations studies, history, traditional culture

 
The Alberta Research Portal | Gale Primary Sources Resource contains imagesopenURL

DESCRIPTION: The Alberta Research Portal is a gateway to Gale Primary Sources, a gateway to a world-class collection of primary sources. This resource provides all Albertans with barrier free perpetual access to the Gale Primary Sources database, with 69 unique primary source collections. This includes extensive resources related to First Nations & Indigenous peoples, the Archives of Human Sexuality and Gender, Associated Press Collections, Smithsonian Collection Online, Sabin Americana, 25 titles from Gale Virtual Reference Library, to name but a few. It also includes monographs, photographs, newspapers, poetry, original documents, records, and more. You can find out more about each collection in this important resource and access help information on the Library's Gale Primary Sources Information Guide
 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
openURL = OpenURL enabled